What Are The Four Countries That Did Not Vote For Algeria In The AU Peace And Security Council?

Algeria_UN.jpgAlgeria achieved a new victory at the African level by being elected as a member of the Peace and Security Council of the African Union on the sidelines of the 34th ordinary session of the Executive Council that was held at the headquarters of the African Union in Addis Ababa.

Algeria won the vote of 48 African countries, while four of the 52 members that are registered in the list of abstained, thus the countries that voted for Algeria represent 92% of the voting countries.

Foreign Minister, Abdelkader Messahel, said on Twitter: “Algeria is elected as a worthy member of the Peace and Security Council of the African Union, which was a tribute to Algeria’s credibility and the role of its diplomacy.”

The countries that voted in favor of Algeria are known, and they used to share the positions of Algeria, which are major countries, such as South Africa, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Egypt, and Tunisia, so what are the four countries that did not vote for Algeria?

They are Morocco, Senegal, and Côte d’Ivoire, while the identity of the fourth country is still unknown, and these countries are known to follow the French decision, and this position did not achieve any progress, especially for Morocco and those in its orbit from the countries of the continent, which count less than the fingers of one hand.

The elections showed the weight of Algeria in the institutions of the African Union, compared to its neighbor Morocco, which achieved, in a similar election, only 16 votes, or 30.18%, compared with 11 countries that voted against it and did not abstain, out of the total of 53 member states of the African Union.